C h a z z W r i t e s . c o m

See all my books at AllThatChazz.com.

Writing at Starbucks and the AlphaSmart Neo

Family Guy spoofed it. I’ve read lots of snarky bits over the years and I say it’s time to end the discrimination. I have a dream! I’m sick of your facile condemnation so I’m coming out and I’m not ashamed. So here goes…I write at (choke) Starbucks. Don’t judge me! It’s the only coffee shop I know where I can sit for hours at a time and nobody’s going to give me a dirty look for loitering. I get away from the kids a bit (love ’em, can’t get much done with them wanting to play on Wii) and I get stuff written so come down from your throne you %!!&! snobs!

Here’s a couple of things to consider: I write with an Alphasmart Neo and I really love it. You’ve seen it advertised in Writer’s Digest etc.,… It’s a tough little keyboard so you can just stuff it in a backpack; it runs for 700 hours on three AA batteries; you can download to it and from it; it doesn’t heat up like regular laptops do and it’s cheap.

Best of all, it has the same virtue that Starbucks has: no distractions. In my home office I can get sucked into all the wonderful distractions that home offers. There are games and internet surfing to do on the home computer. The Neo is just a keyboard. No games, no e-mail, no net. It’s just a glorified typewriter. Yes, I wish it had a mouse sometimes, but for just raw sitting down and burning through, the Neo is your baby. 

*The Second Cup is okay, too.

Filed under: Rant, writing tips, ,

4 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Phillip J Rhoades, Robert Chute. Robert Chute said: Writing at Starbucks (unapologetically) and using the AlphaSmart Neo http://bit.ly/9B5q7v […]

  2. Paper Tiger Press says:

    What can I say? I use an Alphasmart Neo all the time here in Japan, it has kept me writing far more than any other method I have tried. I just pick it up and go. Replaced the batteries for the first time a couple months ago-quite the momentous occasion as you are probably aware! I figure it doesn’t matter where you write, but Starbucks was the first place I started to babble in writing. I would go there before teaching at my English school and journal, write down poetry or ideas. The environment was very conducive for me at that time. Now I mainly write at home (making my own pot of coffee is much cheaper), but I totally understand what you mean. My advice to everyone at all times is- keep writing!

  3. Billy Owens says:

    None on Amazon! Damnit!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Join my inner circle at AllThatChazz.com

See my books, blogs, links and podcasts.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9,217 other subscribers